This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are consenting to our use of cookies. For more information see our cookies policy.

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) put local clinicians in control of the healthcare budget. This means that they are the people who design services around the needs of our local population. It also means that the work we do is really focused on what our community needs. 

We want to transform the experiences of our patients; significantly improve their outcomes; and to use the creativity and resource of our local services to help people live longer and healthier lives.

To do this, our role is to plan, buy and monitor services. These services include other NHS services or services from the voluntary and community sector. We also work closely with other organisations such as other local CCGs (including Bradford City and Bradford Districts), councils and those in the voluntary and community sector to ensure services are sustainable and fit for the future.

Our CCG is introducing a a new primary-care led model of care based called new way of working together based on three communities, one system; an approach we have been developing during 2017/18. This is in our three communities that takes one system wide approach with all services working together across health, social care, voluntary and community services (VCS), along with other stakeholders such as emergency services for each community.  That is to say each community model is operating as part of a wider system across the three areas of Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven.

These three community models are being tailored to meet the needs of each specific communities population, recognising the wider determinants of health served.  We are also supporting a holistic care model taking into account a person’s individual needs: their physical health, their mental health and their social care. It is only through a proactive way of working, driven by the community’s health and care needs that we will improve outcomes for individuals as well as the wider populations we serve.

NHS England has a statutory duty to conduct an annual assessment of every CCG in England.

In August 2016 we launched MyCCG with the aim of providing clear and transparent information about what we are doing and how well we are doing.

Nationally, NHS England launched My NHS which publishes and shares the CCG scorecard through each year of the NHS Five Year Forward View.

In 2017, NHS England also introduced the CCG improvement and assessment framework which replaced the previous CCG Assurance Framework. The CCG improvement and assessment framework aligns with Department of Health’s NHS Mandate and with the NHS Five Year Forward View.

The CCG scorecard for 2017/18 has 51 indicators set out across four areas: Better Health, Better Care, Sustainability and Leadership. The indicators are selected from the NHS Constitution which includes important measures of performance and from outcomes frameworks developed to assess longer term improvements in the health of our population.

 The way we organise our work is grouped into distinct programme areas:

There is a particular focus on six national clinical priority areas:

CCG scorecard at-a-glance

Each qurater we produce an overview containing many of the indicators of the CCG scorecard, this enables people to see on one page how the CCG is progressing across important areas at a glance.

Open all +

MyCCG scorecard 2017-2018

Q1 (NHS England not published) | Q2 | Q3 | Year end

MyCCG scorecard 2016-2017

CCG assessment ratings

For more information, visit the MyNHS website.

Previous ratings under the CCG assurance framework documents

Our previous NHS England CCG assurance documents which were part of the NHS England CCG assurance framework can be found here.

Open all +

CCG Assurance letters

| 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 |