NHS England has introduced a new CCG improvement and assessment framework (IAF) to replace the NHS England CCG assurance framework. The new IAF came into effect from the 1st of April 2016.

The new CCG IAF is about better reflecting what matters most to local communities as CCGs carry on their work to implement the Five Year Forward View and maintain high standards for patients and is intended to embed a ‘triple aim’ in how CCGs work with NHS England:

  • improving the health and wellbeing of the whole population,
  • better quality for all patients, through care redesign,
  • better value for taxpayers in a financially sustainable system.

From 2016/17, our CCG will receive an annual overall assessment. We will be given one of four ratings which are consistent with those used by the Care Quality Commission (CQC); outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate. In addition, CCGs will also be subject to an initial baseline assessment which will be based on our achievement in six clinical priority areas:

  • cancer
  • dementia
  • diabetes
  • learning disabilities
  • maternity
  • mental health.

In the next few weeks, our CCG will be publishing information on how we are doing in each of these six clinical priority areas. This will include information about our plans to develop services in each of these areas in the short and long term.

CCG Scorecard – how we are doing

The CCG Scorecard includes 60 metrics over four domains: Better Health; Better Care; Sustainability and Leadership. You can view how our CCG is performing in each of these areas on the My NHS website.

The year end assessment for 2015/16 rated our CCG as ‘Requires Improvement’. Although rated as ‘Good’ in four out of the five areas, the CCG was rated as ‘Requires Improvement’ in planning.